Just me

It’s not a work, It’s a lifestyle!

I am a Leo myself and yes I am very lazy. I love to play and I know when it’s the time to work I take it smart and seriously, but not hard, because working from 10 to 10 everyday doesn’t make me an overnight millionaire. I still feel that the working hours of my job contributes a very BIG MINUS to the overall satisfaction. The good side would mainly be the skills that I’m catching up so far. When I look back it’s a little bit of weird that I didn’t bother to think long like what I did in the past before applying for a vacancy in a camera manufacturer concept store while I was looking for vacancies with Darren and Gary. I stomped into the shop for a walk-in interview and started work the next day. Probably it’s my interest in photography that had scrapped away all the doubts and worries before applying the job, mind you it was only less than a week after STPM thus most of my friends were surprised at the outcome.

It was really tough at the beginning to cope and deal with the place, people and environment there. I was like a fish out of water. But every starting point is the hardest part. After a couple of weeks I managed to get over with it until today it has been some 2 months of laughs and tears(of course I didn’t cry at all) at there. I’ve had several trainings on the products, got ‘smack downs’(reprimands, or ‘diu’ in Cantonese), fell sick once in a month, knocked by cash machine on my knee which caused me some miserable period and etc. Obviously these are the issues that are not enjoyable.

On the delighting sides, I grabbed the opportunity to get my hands on the DSLRs, took care of the lenses, as well as bettering on my communicating and other soft skills. One of the good sides which I take pleasure in would be getting to communicate with people from all walks of life. The mall that I’m working in is strategically located between the city and living urban which invites people from everywhere be it locals or tourists. I can’t tell whom did I came across with during my tenure so far but I could remember some of them who are from Asian countries like Japan, Korea, China, Singapore, India, Vietnam, the Philippines, and even a Cambodian tried to reach me through the telephone. It’s quite staggering to know there are plenty of Arabians who hailed from countries in the Middle East like Iraq, Iran, Libya, Pakistan and etc. living in Malaysia. Our shop do entices Caucasians whom mostly spend their time standing in front of the lenses display cabinet. A conversation with English is simply pleasing as we share some common interests. Just a simple question “Do you like football?” they will show an enthusiastic look and our conversation could move on to what team do you support or which team do you think is going to win. Haha, I had encountered a Liverpool fan, a Fulham fan, and a Man United fan, I’m still longing to say Hi to a Geordie.

Due to the nature of my job, I get to see different kind of people everyday, in fact, every one is unique. You want to see some of the cases I’ve encountered? Alright, let’s kick-off with some funny and profound examples. Some customers are simply _____(I’ll leave it blank as I don’t know the way to put in an adjective for this one) that they would like to buy a Sony or a Panasonic in our shop. Probably the logo outside our shop doesn’t stand out that much but hey do you get a KFC in a McDonald’s? Next, we have this – a customer looking only for a part in a camera, this is something familiar to looking only for flour that produce Kentucky Fried Chickens. You may say the latter is forgivable but the former is truly a joke. Oh another extreme profound example is a customer was looking to exchange his problematic cartridges with a new set of cartridges which later on he intended to purchase some extra sets. The conversation goes like this: Customer:”I got a lot of money, gimme some discount la.” Us:”Sorry sir, discount is not available.” Then for whatsoever reasons something pissed him off that he started to whining and complaining the cartridges. Angrily he trampled away and we purposely thanked him. The next thing we can heard of was the utter from the customer “You all work like a donkey a I tell you” before he vanished from our sight. Guess what we were like laughing rolling on the floor because of the last sentence. After that incident, the phrase from the customer became our favourite quotation for some time. I don’t know who looks like a donkey now I’ll leave it up to you. Alright gimme a break. Have you ever come across with disabled person? How do you communicate with them when they can’t speak nor hear? Well a rejection is the worst thing a man could do on these individuals I think. In the end I spent almost an hour responding to their needs and I just felt noble although they weren’t purchasing anything.

There are just too many of people that I’ve met and it’s something I didn’t expected to be when I first took the job. When I was younger I thought I’d become a tour guide, meeting people from around the world and then leading them from a spot to another. Contrary to my youngster dream, I now wait for people from around the world to my doorstep and promote them with the products I have on hands. What a twist it has taken. Well, earlier I did felt a change in the wind and now the cloud seems to be clear. Unknown to what is it going to be like in front of the path, I decided to take on the road not taken. I enrolled into a one year course in traditional Chinese medicine, hopefully by attending such a course would give me a healing hand to rejuvenate and revitalize myself. Meanwhile if I feel this is the cup of tea for me I’d go all in. This one year time will serve as a stepping stone for me, because a men who has health has it all, whatever might happen in the future, I want my life to be a lifestyle, not just a life.

Standard

10 thoughts on “It’s not a work, It’s a lifestyle!

  1. nzfeng says:

    lol…
    i tried to communicate wit 1 girl that cannot speak and hear in my shop…
    but i dunno y my hand language works!!!
    even my boss oso amused that i can communicate wit her.

  2. Cherry says:

    are u serious in enrollin in chi medicine?
    haha oh my… ur unique. i nvr though any1 will take tat.
    tat shud contain alot of memorising of all those herbs isnt it? haha where is it gonna be held n when it start?
    haha working gained u alot of experiences in life huh. Enjoy !

  3. innkun says:

    haha.a good experience.it will be useful for ur whole life.haha.
    now i wonder evy1 is crazy of football..anytime ..anywhere…haha

Leave a Reply

