Just telling it as it is

Understanding breakfast

All these years, I never take breakfast seriously. In a year time, my health condition goes backward and downward, every now and then I’d be bogged down by all kinds of illness. Every time it strikes me, my mood can’t be any positive. I have to shake-off this root problem, it has been stamping me since I was a kid. I ought to admit I have less stronger immune system than most of my peers, that’s why I get sick easily. I’m so desperate to get my health back on track. At some point, I’m disappointed with myself, for not pressing enough on my get-healthy-plan. 😕 Today, I came across an article on breakfast.

Millions of people who skip breakfast and have never invested time in researching the consequences of their act, usually wonder why do experts regard breakfast as the most important meal of the day and how come it is still the most important meal of the day, surpassing the nutritional value of a healthy lunch or even dinner. However, for millions others who do eat a healthy breakfast, their secret to good health lies within this first day’s meal. So, it is vital for you to understand why eating breakfast is crucial for your overall heath.

While you are sleeping, your body continues to perform its functions and thus consuming resources, but in a lower rate than when you are awake since your metabolism slows down to compensate for the decreased energy needs. After waking up in the morning, because your body does not have enough time to return to its normal state is still experiencing the decreased metabolism state which can be ceased with eating a healthy breakfast. That is actually why it has this particular name “break” the “fasting” process.

Thus, a healthy breakfast will end the calorie conservation period and will allow your metabolism to increase to its normal levels. This is why when you actually eat in the morning you feel that your energy levels have increased and you are ready to begin your day’s tasks. Moreover, for those of you who are dieting in order to loose weight, you should know that skipping breakfast will not save you from the calories you are trying to avoid. By deciding not to begin your day with a healthy intake, you are not allowing your body’s metabolism to go back to its normal state and you actually loose a protein called “leptin” that has been discovered to keep your body working efficiently and thus loosing weight.

Since now you are familiar with the basics on metabolism and overnight fasting, you should concentrate on what your healthy breakfast should include. Avoid simple carbs and concentrate on consuming complex carbs, lean proteins and healthy fats. Whole wheat bread, cereals, white meats, eggs, low-fat dairy products, vegetables and fruits are excellent breakfast choices.

Remember to eat small portions throughout the day, but not to exclude breakfast from your daily nutritional plan. Soon you will be grateful for waking up ten minutes earlier but at the end of the day you will have much more energy to spare and you will feel fitter and healthier all day long. Credit

I also discovered an useful website – Nutrition Data where you can get to know and keep track on what you eat at the same time. Before my health decline further, I’d better start my day off with a simple cup of chocolate milk, egg and cereal bread from now on. 😉

***What’s your breakfast, mate?***

Standard

13 thoughts on “Understanding breakfast

  1. coffee936 says:

    My coffee increases my metabolism gradually from the rest state, not their regular high caffeinated Robusta coffee. I then eat wheat bread with cheese or egg and a fruit. Being
    a diabetic is no fun, but I learn to eat every two hours.

  2. Now only u noe breakfast is important?
    aha..
    But for ur information blunch doesnt consider as breakfast. Do keep in mind that onli 7-9am having breakfast wil make u stay healthy as thats the time where ur body absorbtion system performs at the greatest profienciency level of the day.

    But sometimes by sunday morning who wil eventually wake up so early?aha…

    Anyway to make a healthy body we haf to lead a healthy life. Its simple basic yet hard to perform actually. Slip at 10pm wake up at 6/7am.Can u?

  3. I’m on a rest plan (7-8 hours sleep from 2300GMT) now.
    Thanks for the tip.
    I wanted to drink milk every morning until I discover lactose intolerance. I had stopped drinking milk since I’m one-years-old. I believe I’m one of the many who are unable to metabolize lactose efficiently in my body. 😐

  4. Hey~WHEENEY~~ (omg! I really canot tahan dis word! Glade u din commented it in my latest blog…AGAIN!! THANKYOU VERY MUCHIE~~)

    So u now taking breakfast every morning? Den wat time you hav to wake up to prepare ur breakfast during skol time? I mostly skip it!..Rushing like hell. But den now holi….enjoy my breakfast very muchie…

    Gambadek u to keep ur body in healthy condition!

  5. hYau
    Chocolate milk is simply fine for me, I will vomit if I drink original milk.

    nzfeng
    I think they are just not the right food for breakfast!

    Cathey
    I don’t know when it comes to school time because we have holidays now. We can share some breakfast tips. WEENEEEY!

  6. So boss,now u very health already lo…
    everyday also have nutrition breakfast,
    i also have chocolate milk lastime without having other things,than at last me ended up in vomitting over the following two weeks n is really torturing….WINNIE!=.=

  7. Well, I’d make myself a cup of instant oatmeal every morning which helps lower bad cholesterol. I’d also have boiled egg or sausages with bread to give me the necessary energy I need. At times, my mom would make fruit salad (apple or kiwi fruit with fresh vegetables) which I also enjoy eating.

  8. ufo says:

    abang…thanks for sharing the helpful article…
    Every morning…all i need is a cup of Milo…with Milo my energy can last longer… By the way…you can try to eat banana for your breakfast…you will see the magic…hahahahaha…just eat banana and drink plain water…

Leave a Reply

